What is covered in fall protection training?

fall protection training

What is covered in fall protection training - AIP Safety Calgary

If you work at a height of 3 meters or higher on your job site, you are required to have fall protection training. Unfortunately, injuries and deaths have occurred due to workers falling while working in hazardous situations. A fall protection training course can help you identify the risks and minimize the possibility of you or someone you work with getting hurt.

What is fall protection training?

Fall protection training involves safety controls designed to prevent you from falling more than 6 feet. Fall restraint prevents a worker from falling by restricting their travel on an elevated surface. Fall arrest stops a fall mid-air once it has happened.

Situations that may require fall protection training:

Fixed suspended work platforms

  • Swing stages
  • Aerial devices
  • Suspended equipment
  • Elevated work platforms
  • Forklift platforms

What will you learn in your fall protection training?

  • Regulations
  • Proper inspections
  • How to select and use equipment
  • Anchor systems and anchor points
  • Vertical and horizontal life lines
  • The difference between fall restraint and fall arrest systems
  • How to stay proactive

The Energy Safety Canada Fall Protection Training course is generally 8 hours providing theory and practical application. Once successfully completed, you will have a valid certification for three years. After this, you should re-train to maintain certification.

You might require additional job-specific training depending on the industry you are working in and what types of equipment you are working with. As an example, a roofer needs to be trained on limitations for handling mechanical equipment on low-sloped roofs.

Your company will benefit from employees taking a fall protection course in many ways:

  • Helps you avoid Workers Compensation costs associated with worker injuries
  • Informs your employees of the proper safety guidelines and procedures
  • Aids in avoiding death due to a workplace accident
  • Complies with municipal and provincial guidelines for safety

There are four levels of fall protection training to choose from:

  1. Awareness Level: The bare minimum is taught in this level of training and there is usually no hands-on portion.
  2. Authorized-User: Training specific to the job you are on.
  3. Competent Person: A more intense training covering a broad number of hazards, usually for supervisors.
  4. Qualified Person: The highest level of training usually involving a specialized degree or training that allows this person to make design change recommendations or design safety systems. The boss will designate one person with this type of training.